Showing posts with label I Think It's Cool. Show all posts
Showing posts with label I Think It's Cool. Show all posts

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

No More Missing Link

Have you ever found something that you think is so clever, or makes your life easier, or even just takes a load off your mind?

Sure you have. We all have.

I did again recently, as well. And actually, to be honest, it didn't just make my life easier, or give me some peace of mind, or even strike me as really ingenious.

It did all three.

For years now, I have been wanting to have a way to communicate Michaela's medical needs when there is an emergency. You know, I'm thinking ahead. Being prepared. Not that I am automatically assuming there WILL be a problem, but it's more that I'm being practical and realistic. You are just plain procrastinating if you DON'T prepare for medical emergencies when you have a loved one with serious medical issues.

In some ways, I've taken care of this issue. I carry with me a jump drive with a combo lock on it, that contains all her medical info and all the software a hospital anywhere in the world would need to open those documents. I also make sure that the school and any babysitters (if we go out of town) have medical documentation as well.

Problem is, either I or her caregivers would have to be physically present in order to give the hospital that information. And more specifically, we'd have to be conscious.

But we all know, that in the case of an accident or medical emergency, that just isn't always possible.

And that has really bothered me. I simply hated the fact that there was this "missing link" in the chain of safety for her.

So I have looked into the options, and none of them seemed really worthwhile. The most
common method of communication in the event of an emergency is the medical alert bracelet (or necklace). I have looked at those things for YEARS at our local drugstore. Debating back and forth every time if it is something I should buy.

Not that they're expensive or anything, it's not that. I don't even think Michaela would care if she were wearing it or not, so that didn't deter me either. It was simply the fact that a bracelet with the word "Epilepsy" on it just wasn't going to do the trick for Michaela. There was no way.

I mean, do you get it? How can one word really help in the event of an emergency? Granted, I guess you can have something engraved on the other side with a little more info, but it's seriously restricted. Too restricted. Michaela's medical needs are pretty complex. She doesn't have a condition that follows the rules. You can't just wheel her unconscious into an E.R. and pump her up with the normal epilepsy drug protocol.

But I am assuming that's exactly what WOULD happen if they saw her wearing that bracelet.

Seriously? They've made drug mistakes with ME sitting right there! Last time she was in the E.R., they were about to give her a med that A) should not be mixed with a drug she was already taking and B) had potentially deadly consequences for her. Someone didn't notice the memo in her chart. Good thing I was there.

Doesn't help my mind in the event that I'm not.

****

Ok, so now that I've explained my concerns, let me just tell YOU about this little gem that I found!

Beloved Readers, let me introduce you to...

(Drumroll!)

The Invisible Bracelet!!

...or iB for short :)

What is so very cool about the iB, what is so incredibly clever, what makes my life easier and gives me peace of mind, is the fact that it can do what those medical bracelets cannot.

It can give detailed personal information to emergency personnel in the event Michaela needs immediate care....and I am not available to help.

How it works is like this:

Everyone who registers with iB is given a card and keyfob or "badge" (depending on your preference) and assigned a PIN that is printed on them. This PIN, when texted to a short code number (those 5-digit numbers you can text stuff to? yeah, that), allows the person sending the PIN, to receive a text message back that gives them detailed information about you and your condition. Whatever you want them to know.

And depending on where you live, some paramedics are even connected to a more extensive version of this service, where they can access more information than in that simple text message.

For us, we use the "badge," called an ICEDOT. It attaches to Michaela's clothing, has the universal acronym for "In Case of Emergency" (ICE) on one side, and that PIN and short code number with clear instructions on the back.



If you were to text her PIN to that phone number, this is the kind of info you would get:

Michaela (Mi-KAY-la) Morris
13yo F
Lennox Gastaut Syndrome
All her current meds (and doses depending on space)
Her VNS
Drugs she's allergic to
Phone numbers where Chris and I can be reached
Chief's phone number

So right off the bat, those paramedics have a wealth of information right in their cell phones or in their emergency database. Instead of fumbling to determine what drugs she has in her system, or why she has a g-tube, or if they are gonna mess her up because they don't know her history, it's all right there.

They now know the meds.
They now know what NOT to give her, instead of finding out the hard way.
They now can get someone to look up Lennox Gastaut Syndrome to get a fuller medical picture.
They now can call Chief and Children's Hospital...the medical team that knows her best.

All because of the little round piece of plastic that I attach to her clothing every day.

No matter where we are, or even if she's just staying at home (hello? house fire?), she wears her iB ICEDOT.

But for those who carry a purse or a wallet or even a set of keys, you can get the card version of iB. It goes in your wallet just like any card you would hold there. There is also a keyfob card (like you would get from a grocery store) as well. Michaela rarely has any sort of carrying case with her, so the ICEDOT is just perfect for our situation. The company originally advertised this round red circle as a medical alert device for athletes in case of injury on the field. But as soon as I saw it and what it could do, I just knew that it had a much broader application.

For starters, it gave this Mom some serious peace of mind.

****

So now, I'm trying to get the word out and alert some people myself. I personally think that anybody who has a serious medical condition needs an iB:

Diabetes? (What if your blood sugar drops really bad?)
Epilepsy? (ok, duh...no explanation needed)
Allergies? (do you really want penicillin in the ER by mistake?)

ANY kind of medical condition that would require special instructions,

...requires an Invisible Bracelet.

Check out their website, will ya?



And let me know if it completes YOUR chain of safety as well!

Thursday, September 04, 2008

...And I Think I May Like McCain Too

Because I seriously wasn't into him too much before last night. I mean, he just has never seemed like a strong Republican candidate in any way. And really, he may NOT be still.

However, I learned a few things about the man last night that makes me feel a little bit better about him.

1. He has hard core governing experience.
2. He's fought in wars. We're in a war. He'll know how to handle it (ie: defer to the Generals and Admirals and let them do their job!).
3. He's not interested in recreating Vietnam. In other words, he's not going to just "back out" of stabilizing the Middle East and allow our young men to have died in vain.
4. He knows how to keep his chin up (and ours) during difficult times. Any man who CHOOSES to stay in captivity for the sake of his fellow soldiers, is willing to go the distance for the rest of us.
5. He adopted an orphan in his 50's. One with serious medical issues. That's a very honorable thing in my book.

And last but not least, he's the pro-life candidate. What that's worth with his previous stances, I'm not sure, but he now says he's pro-life. Obama won't say that.

And really, that's what it comes down to for me. No matter what, I was going to vote for McCain if he said he would uphold pro-life principles. Even if I didn't like anything else at all. If he was pro-choice like Obama, I was not going to vote at all.

But he says he's pro-life. That's all I really care about.

Obama's for killing babies, and McCain's not? OK, then, McCain it is.

I know, I know, narrow sighted in some people's mind. There's more issues, true. But really, when you look at it that way: One's FOR murder, and one's AGAINST, then there's just no other issue on the table.

And God help me to never be in the situation, but yes, I would DIE before I have an abortion. So, yeah, even if it comes down to it, the woman's life is not as important in my mind. I don't think it justifies killing another human being. It doesn't to God, and it doesn't to me.

Call me a religious fanatic if you wish, but hey if "religious fanatics" are the only ones that have morals and a conscious on this issue, then I'm the biggest fanatic/Jesus Freak you know.

Because I'm just not going to say murdering an unborn child is ok, in any case. And I won't vote for someone who can't see that.



But the other little tidbits were nice to hear as well......

Sarah Plain and Tall



Next VP?

Move over Hilary, here comes someone better!


I'm pretty excited about Sarah Palin for GOP VP. Here's a few reasons why:

-She's a woman. Enough said.
-She has a family that she takes care of. A husband and 5 kids in fact.
-She decided to continue a pregnancy even when she knew the child had Down Syndrome. Talk about living what we preach.
-She's from Alaska--the state that will rid us of our energy crisis.
-She's from Alaska--not DC.
-She's smalltown. Not Georgetown. And she's the common man.
-She's not afraid to fight corruption.
-She's not interested in the perks of government, but the JOB of government (check out her creds)


She reminds me of Condoleeza Rice, a woman I wish would've run for the office. She's tough, has integrity, isn't afraid of being a woman and mother (check out the skirt instead of the "Hillary pant suits"), and can spit fire with the best of the boys.

I'm just waiting for the showdown with Joe Biden. I'll be rooting for her.


And so far, I think she'll make a great VP.

Wednesday, May 21, 2008

Wii Be Fit

Oh yes, we're getting somewhere here.

I'm now down 22 pounds!

And with this new toy, I'm sure to lose more. My Mom and Dad got me the new Wii Fit for Mother's Day. It just came out today, and since I had some things to get at the store anyhow, well....I er, just picked up the Wii Fit while I was there...

(Ok, so what if I HAVE been counting down the days?)

Anyhow. Can you say cool? This thing is so neat! It can figure out how much you weigh, your BMI, your center of balance---just by standing on the "balance board" that comes with it. There are 4 different modes of "play:" Strength Training, Yoga, Balance Training, and Aerobics. I already LOVE the Basic Step game, and some of those Yoga poses are TOUGH! You do this initial set-up test to see what your strengths and weaknesses are, what your "Wii Fit age" is (mine is only 35...woohoo!), and set up a goal. So far, it will only let me get out of the "Overweight" category into the "Normal" category, but that's fine. Hey, at least I'm not in the "Obese" category anymore!!

The more you use Wii Fit, the more games you unlock. It keeps track of how long you've been working out (very nice feature), so in various increments it will open up another option to try.

I even liked the fact that it makes your Mii character look as slim or chunky as you really are. No, seriously, this is helpful! I'm pretty sure the character slims up as you do! I mean, comon', that's pretty motivating! Not only will my clothes fit better, but now my digital self will be looking better too---HA!

Here's a short intro video that can SHOW you what I'm talking about:



Oh, and by the way, that soccer ball heading game? Yeah, it may not actually hurt your head, but those cleats flying at you.....it's not easy, and I pretty much stink at that game. LOL.

Tuesday, May 13, 2008

212 Out of 237


THAT my dear reader, is how many Michaela got RIGHT on her Math-A-Thon quiz!

Read it again.....

WooHoo!

MY girl did that!

And she raised the most money for St. Jude in her entire school (grades K-8)! This isn't a strictly special needs school either. It's perhaps 50/50.

Don't you just see the coolness in a special needs kid doing the BEST in a fund raiser for sick kids??

Oh, I do. It's just brimming over with coolness in my mind :)

***

Here's some video of her working on her problems:





Sorry it took so long to get the news out, but I've been swamped and Blogger video isn't the fastest thing ever.

Special thanks to Deb, Jen, and Janet for believing in Michaela with their donations! And thanks to everyone who wanted to sponsor, but found out too late. Your encouraging words mean a lot.

***


It's just so good to see Boo doing so well...

212 out of 237.

Man. That's just....


...more than words can say, I guess.

Thursday, April 24, 2008

Come, Share in My Excitement

Check this out:

Michaela comes home the other day and plops her backpack down on the floor before beelining for the computer. I didn't think to look in the bag; maybe I was busy, maybe I was distracted. I try to check her bag everyday in case her teacher sent home some note or whatever. Either way, the bag was moved to it's rightful spot of sittage at some point, and I never looked in it.

Until the next morning. When I found this:


THIS, my dear friends, is exciting! This is revolutionary! This is SOOO COOL!!

"What is it?" you say?

It's a FUND RAISER!!



((((collective groans emanate from the readership))))

***

As some of you may know, I've been helping support St. Jude's Hospital for many years now. I can't say I've been one of those people that would get their name on a brick or anything like that (actually, probably more like a drop in a bucket kinda person), but we've been consistent.

I think it's a worthy cause. Can you imagine what it would be like to find out your child has cancer? Maybe you already know what that's like. I can't even imagine. All I know is that I was forever changed when Michaela was in the hospital for 2 weeks back in 2005. When we brought her in, she couldn't walk, talk, or eat, and they weren't sure if she would ever fully recover. In the middle of dealing with this very difficult and devastating situation, I was in the hospital elevators one day. And there, beside me, was a boy similar to Michaela's age. He was bald, pale, wearing a face mask and holding onto an IV pole with the nastiest looking stuff you ever saw. If I remember correctly, the bag that held the stuff had a skull and crossbones on it!

I instantly knew that this little boy had cancer. And then, perspective hit me. Yes, Michaela was very sick. Yes, she wasn't supposed to get better. But she was ALIVE. And she really didn't know all that was going on with her. She wasn't really in pain. Unlike that little boy. I've since learned a little bit as to how much these littlest cancer patients go through. It's appalling. No adult would sign up for it.

Well, unless it was their kid having to go through it.

And even though Michaela's form of epilepsy is devastating, and even life-threatening (some kids have a whopper of a seizure and then they're gone), we just don't go through the kind of sickening worry that cancer kids and their families go through. Every test, every infusion, every hospital stay can potentially be a life threatening situation. It hangs over their heads and steals so much from them just having a normal life. A simple fever is cause for worry and even a hospital admission. If the cancer is "cured," the entire therapy and process of battling the disease can render a child impotent, lame, blind, deaf, or permanently altered in some way.

It just breaks my heart.

It makes me thankful that I'm only dealing with LGS.

We supported St. Jude's before that encounter in the elevator, but now I make SURE I support St. Jude's. They don't just try to cure kids, they take the unreasonable stress off of these devastated and scared families. They don't make them pay. Ever.

That alone is worth all the help I can give. I know about this: I've had my share of insurance battles and medical bills. It is such a strain in the middle of dealing with a sick child. Especially when parents want and need to be out of work. Especially when they have to travel hundreds of miles for the best care. Especially when the mortgage company doesn't care what you're going through--they want their money.

St. Jude's makes life a little bit easier by taking the medical bills out of the equation. $100's of thousands of dollars of expensive and cutting-edge therapies are paid for.

By people like me...

And by people like you.

***

So my interest was definitely peaked when I saw that the proceeds of this particular fund raiser went to my charity of choice.

But even more than that, this fund raiser got children involved. Kids helping kids. How cool is that? I think kids need to be able to think beyond themselves and the prizes that fund raisers give them. It's a healthy way to help them feel like a part of their community. That their actions affect others. Such a good lesson!

This particular fund raiser revolves around MATH. How it works is like this:

1) A child gets sponsors to pledge so much per math problem the child answers correctly. Sponsors can pledge anything per problem, but 5, 10, 15 or 20 cents per problem are common pledge amounts.

2) Each child is to work out math problems suitable for their grade level. There are roughly 200-300 in the contest. They can take up to a week to finish the problems.

3) Once the child completes all the problems, the correct answers are tallied up, and the sponsors make a donation to St. Jude's for the amount they pledged.

And everyone gets to feel like they've accomplished something good and worthwhile!

Priceless!

***

But let's take this a step further.

I heard about this because Michaela's school sent the information home. Now that doesn't always mean that the stuff she brings to me applies to her. Sometimes it can be announcements for the junior high, or some other function that she simply would not participate in.

But THIS.

Is something she can do.

MY child. The one suffering from brain damage, physical impairments, and various other afflictions. SHE can do this fund raiser! They sent home the Kindergarten math problem packet and I checked it out. She can do this stuff! It's counting and shapes and patterns and other simple stuff.

She can do this!

Even if she can't do all of it, she can do some of it. I mean, HOW COOL IS THAT?? Do you realize how excited this makes me?

Rewind: 3 years ago, they weren't sure if she would ever:

WALK
TALK
or EAT again.

And now she's participating in a MATH FUND RAISER??!?




Um, I'll forgive you if you can contain yourself, but I SURE CAN'T!!


WOOHOOOO!!!!! THANK GOD!!!

***

So, yeah, I'm shamelessly looking to solicit sponsors for this. It doesn't matter where you are, everything can be done online.

Will YOU support Michaela?

No, you don't get anything like a fancy candle, chocolate turtles, or some chintzy earrings; but you WILL get the satisfaction of helping a worthy cause.





And that reward is worth more than any mint cookie you'll ever eat. :)

Saturday, March 22, 2008

They MAKE These!

Ok, I am SOOOOO in trouble!


Do you see this?

Do you SEEEEEE this????

Creme Eggs.....in miniature.......in a little miniature egg carton.......



1 WEIGHT WATCHER POINT EACH


Oh, man, y'all, I am SOOOOOOO in trouble.........

Wednesday, February 20, 2008

Thieves!

Chris has been neglecting the bird feeder lately (one of his "jobs" around the house), but in light of his current busy-ness, I let him off the hook.

The birds, on the other hand, are really quite perturbed and have resorted to desperate measures.

Namely, eating the cat's food.



Here's our resident cardinal and his mate. They had been pilfering earlier, but didn't like the fact that I was trying to take their picture.



This happened this past Saturday. Chris was home, and he saw what they were doing.

Needless to say, the bird feeder, is now full.

...at least for a couple of days.

Friday, February 08, 2008

Homeschool Happiness



Today is track separation/DVD making day.

The day where I let Noah use my laptop for his video school, and I create DVDs of his classes for his school weeks to come. This is THE hardest part of my homeschooling week now, and I'm really not doing it justice by calling it hard. It's not hard at all. Time consuming, yes, but it's really not difficult in the least.

We're now using the Bob Jones University Satellite program, and it's the best thing that's happened to us. On one hand, I LOVED researching my curriculum every year. Poring through brand new textbooks, going to the curriculum fairs to find the best deal, getting just the "right" match for my kids for school. Yet, this method was only the beginning of the homeschool year for me. After I decided on what they'd do for the year, then I'd have to order it and figure out the schedule for the entire year.

Then I'd have to teach it. Every day.

But not anymore! With the BJU video program, very experienced teachers are relaying the different concepts to my kids every day. So far (which may not always be), I am using their entire curriculum (well, everything I would've taught) instead of hodge podging it. So I'm not spending my spring figuring out what we're doing for school.

That's Bonus #1.

So now I order the books I need for the classes, and record those classes onto a DVD recorder directly from a special satellite. The satellite ONLY has the classes and programs from BJU; 4 channels of it. The satellite receiver box and the recorder are programmed to pick up the classes I want, and record them (sometimes during the night!). Each class is engaging, age-appropriate, and taught by very experienced teachers. It's like having the best come to my house each day and teach my kids. They even have special guests and show the kids far away places that I would never be able to accomplish on a field trip.

That's Bonus #2.

BJU also offers these classes on pre-made DVDs. However, because of the size of my family, the satellite option allows me to make the DVDs myself and SAVE them for the kids who will use them in a couple of years. The DVD lease option only allows you to use them for one year before you send them back (great for families with one or 2 kids). So, the books and classes I have now, I can use for Caleb and Libby and Asher and Gabe. Now that's a bargain!

That's Bonus #3.

I also am not worrying if I'm teaching things right or if he's learning what he needs to know for the future. Even though I liked mixing curriculums in the past, there was always that fear that I was missing something in the mix, or something was being forgotten that he'd need to know. Now, with using BJU materials, I know that the scope and sequence is right on track and even ahead of the public school kids at times. Bob Jones University has been in the curriculum business for a good long while (Chris and I used it when we were in school), and they're considered one of the top all-around curriculums out there. Some kids that graduate from high school after using BJU material are going to the major military academies and ivy league schools. They just flat-out produce an excellent product for educating our kids.

That's Bonus #4.

But best of all, is the fact that I am successfully juggling my Homeschool/Housewife/Mommy duties in a much more efficient way. Whereas before, my house had to be neglected in order for me to homeschool, I can continue to maintain my daily housework, while the kids are being taught. BJU says their video programming is not a substitute for me (being the teacher), but that's not exactly true. They ARE a substitute for my time, and even though I still help with classwork and explaining concepts, I don't have to teach the concepts completely for a half hour per class. I can clean up the kitchen or fold laundry while he's doing the video. He knows where I am if he has a question. If he doesn't have a question, he just does what he's told to do as far as assignments.

And I'm not being constantly interrupted by my little ones anymore. They can interrupt me all they want now, I'm not teaching! My school days are not being sabotaged by fussy babies and sick toddlers. Poor Noah is not having to wait for me, wait for me, wait for me all the time while I take an important phone call from Michaela's doctors/social workers/teachers. If he DOES need me, and I'm not available for the above reasons, then he can easily pop in the DVD for a different class while he's waiting. Talk about effective use of time! He can even take this on road trips or vacations if need be. The versatility is priceless.

That's 5 bonuses, and maybe even more that I can't think of right now. I can't say enough good stuff about this homeschool program!

But in the interest of being "fair and balanced," I'll give you the cons as well:

-The startup cost is significant. The satellite/receiver is roughly $300. I got mine on SALE for $50 (which is also the sale going on now! Until Dec!), and many people are able to find a deal of some sort on it. But that's the cost for it retail. Then there's the DVD recorder you would need in order to record and store the classes that are broadcast every day. Some people already have these, but you NEED to have one with a hard drive. It's a MUST. I got one used from another BJU family for $200. That was a good deal. Some have gotten them cheaper than that. They retail for $200+ depending on the size of the hard drive. You can also broadcast the classes directly to your computer and buy software that will burn them onto DVDs, but this is costly as well.

-There is a monthly subscription fee. $50. All year long (there are classes that broadcast all year). And you're supposed to continue paying that fee even when you've recorded all the classes you want--for as long as you're using the DVDs you made. We just consider it another bill. It's not a huge expense, and we're used to paying it automatically every month. It's an INVESTMENT in my kid's education. It's an investment in my time and sanity. I can handle 40 bucks a month. But it's every month, and some people would consider that an annoyance. I don't think it's as much as some people pay for their digital cable satellite fees. And it's definitely not anywhere near as much for private school.

-There is a registration fee for each class. This is NOT mandatory, but it is highly recommended. The registration covers the fee for additional materials the satellite teacher wants the kids to have (like bonus material, aside from the straight curriculum, that they use to "spice" up the class), and it allows you a free replacement copy of the classes if BJU has a broadcast problem. They will send you a free copy if you're registered. If YOU make the mistake and you need a replacement copy, then you can buy it from them if you're registered. Otherwise, you're up a creek (unless you know someone who is also recording that class, like I've done many times even though I'm registered). The fees are usually $10/class for elementary classes, $20 for secondary classes, and $40 for high school classes. This is a one-time fee, and you won't need to do it for the other kids that use that class in future years.

-You need to put the classes on DVDs (which you have to buy. I usually get mine for $25/100). This is pretty time consuming. The classes are broadcast in one "blockfeed" for an entire week. So, for instance, if your child is doing 4th grade Science, then an entire week's worth of Science classes for 4th grade comes in one lump. You have to separate those individual classes so that your child can skip to the day they're working on. Back in the day, people used to use VCRs and it was no problem to just stop the tape at the end of the class and it was ready for the next day. But DVDs don't work like that, so you have to put "markers" in between each class, so you can skip to the next track on the disk every day. It's not hard work; it just takes time. BUT, it's time I can spend whenever it's CONVENIENT for me--not just during school hours. I've done some separating while waiting for water to boil, the washer to finish, or while the kids are asleep and Chris is studying. I will do a little bit during the week, and do the bulk on Friday (a day when I'm not recording anything). I also have 4 classes that record on Saturday, and I'll separate and burn those as they finish. That way, I have a free hard drive for the new week of classes that starts on Sunday.

Other than these reasons, I can't think of anything else negative about this method. It is such a lifesaver for us. I was always stressed with school: getting it done, getting the housework done, giving the babies attention, doing it all right. I'm still not the best at housework, but at least I can keep on top of it. And I don't have to worry about taking care of some business phone calls. Or stopping school to change a diaper/nurse a baby/give out some discipline. And I'm not worried about the kids getting a good education.

I homeschool my kids because it's important to me to have them here with me and not be gone 8 hours in the day. It's important to me to teach them and train them up in the right way. To not expose them to the bad things in society that they can't handle yet. To be able to mother them through life, instead of letting someone else do it. I didn't sign up for the job of Mother, just for a stranger to take over. These things are important to me, and have been for a long time. This BJU satellite program has been an excellent tool to allow ME to achieve my dreams for motherhood and raising my children. I'm very thankful for it!

So, if you'll excuse me, I've got some classes to work on :)




If you'd like more information on this program, you can access the website here. You can also see excerpts of classes for grades K4-12 here.

Monday, June 11, 2007

Me Likey!

That's something Jeni always says, and I've sorta adopted it.

Today, I had a "Me Likey!" experience.

***

Ever since I moved to Alabama, I've worked hard to balance my checking account every statement. For some unknown reason, I never could get it right when I lived in NH. It bothered me to no end; I would write out every transaction for 6 months by hand to find the errors, to no avail.

Since we started all over when we moved here, I made sure to get the account balanced from the get-go. Thankfully, I haven't had a problem since moving, and have successfully balanced my checking account to the penny every month.

That's a good feeling!

I owe a lot of it to the accounting software I use, Microsoft Money, and the fact that we hardly use cash. On top of that, Chris is very diligent to keep his debit slips for me to record with. So then, every so often, I go through all the slips and my duplicate checks, and enter all the info into my electronic register. It automatically gives me the total.

I also use it to keep track of what bills are due when. That's a virtual lifesaver.

Then, when my monthly statement comes in, I just match it up with the computer. It comes out right every time.

***

Well, one day, while I was out yard sale-ing, I picked up a copy of the UPDATED version of MS Money. For a quarter. Hoo-ahhh!

Today, I installed it.

And this new be-fangled version has a VERY nice little upgrade:

It will self-balance my account.

How? you say? Well, all you have to do is log on to your bank account online (anyone out there not checking your current balance at your bank's website? You're the minority!). Then, you can either download a copy of your online statement to Money from the website, or Money will do it for you from the program itself. Of course you have to be online to do this, but most people are these days.

Once the document has been downloaded into the Money program, it will match up the debits and credits already recorded in the program, with the ones that the bank shows. If you forgot to record a specific transaction, you can click a button and Money will automatically insert it into your register. If it can't tell if the bank's record is the same as yours (say, you record it as "Walmart" and the bank records it as "Wal-mart #233"), it will ask you if you want to accept that record as the same thing. Once you click the "accept" button, it is reconciled.

In other words, instead of constantly matching up your online balance with the bank to the account register in Money (by clicking back and forth between pages), the program will now do it for you. Which also means that I don't have to balance a month's worth of transactions when I get my paper statement. Sheesh, I don't even NEED a paper statement anymore! I just download a copy of the bank's records of my account, and Money will do the rest----instant balanced checkbook!

Oh yeah......me likey very much!

Thursday, May 31, 2007

Day 28: 2.8

200 Things About Me:








Just kidding!

But this IS my 200th post. My "Bi-Centennial" if you will. Gosh, that seems like a lot of writing, huh?

Let's see, what's the numbers on that?

My first post was on November 21, 2005. So, 365 days to November 21, 2006. Then there were 40 more days in 2006, so that brings it up to 405 days. Then we add the 151 for 2007, and that brings the total to 556 days since I started blogging.

Then we divide that by 200, which gives us 2.78.

Which means I post every 2.78 days, on average. Or, rounded up, is 2.8 (and lookee there! today is day "28"----how cool is that?)

Ha! And y'all thought I was slackin'. Heh! Every 2-3 days or so is not so shabby!

Well, until you look at the month of April. That's not a good picture of my blogging prowess at all. So, let's just forget about April and focus on 2.8, ok?

And hopefully, after this little 30 day stint thing, I can make the numbers even better!

Thursday, May 17, 2007

Day 15: Tag! I'm It!

Thanks to Jeni, I don't have to come up with something spectacular to say today!

She tagged me, and I'm more than happy to oblige. I'm supposed to tell you 8 things about myself; some random facts and/or habits. Hmmmm.....

1. I like puzzles. Specifically, those with Charles Wysocki prints on them. Can't say I like too many others. I don't like hard puzzles, because to me, puzzles should be fun and relaxing. The Wysocki ones are so busy, that it's relatively simple to put together a 1000 piecer. I've been doing them since I was a kid, and still do them with Chris when we have the chance. I have two that I framed, hanging in my bedroom.

2. I bite my nails. A terrible habit in one sense, but definately one of the more benign ones to have. I always seem to gnaw on them during a good book. And overall, I just can't stand to have my nails longer than the edge of my finger. I always end up poking the kids with them!

3. I can't handle watching people kiss. Don't ask me WHY, because I really don't know the answer, but for some reason, I get that "butterfly feeling" when people are kissing. I don't generally watch the wedding kiss. I turn away if I even THINK people are going to kiss in front of me. It doesn't gross me out or anything, but I think I just feel like I'm watching something that's "too private." Or something like that. I just don't know why I feel that way. I'm probably killing myself by owning up to it on here. Now everyone is going to try to kiss in front of me!

4. I have the bad habit of throwing things away. Some people are compulsive hoarders, and I am a compulsive giver...to the trash can, that is. Or the dishwasher. Or the laundry basket. If you come over, and don't HOLD your can of Coke, then it is free fodder for getting moved, put in the fridge, or the garbage. I can't stand clutter, and so, I live by this motto: "If it doesn't have a home, either make one quickly or get rid of it!" I actually have a garbage bin for stuff that I might want later (it only gets emptied every once in a while). This is a really bad habit that I'm working on----very hard!

5. I love reading, but have a hard time finding stuff TO read. I'm pretty picky about what I like. No romance (see #3). No sci-fi. No fantasy. Very little fiction. I mostly like true stories, or very plausible fiction (not easy to find, I dare say). Some modern biographies too. That's probably why I like blogging so much. Reading a blog is reading a true story, and that's my favorite stuff to read. Coincidentally, ever since I was a child, I've liked to read true stories about children. My favorite was "Children's Hospital' because it made me cry and cheer. I never thought I'd be living out my own version of that book.

6. One of my habits is to ask questions. I can't say whether this is good or bad. Probably a little of both. Sometimes, it works out very well for me to be so inquisitive. Other times.....not so much. I'm generally the one asking the ONE question that everyone wants to ask, but won't. My nickname at church is, "The Question Box." Thankfully, I've not only learned to ASK questions, but to live with the ANSWER I get. Can't say I've always been so good at that!

7. I feel I am very good at business. My parents have taught me a lot about how to handle billing issues, creditors, money, and the like. I am not as good as my teachers yet, but I feel very confident when it comes to business deals. I don't think I would've been able to mentally take care of all of the ins and outs of Michaela's medical/insurance/disability issues without this ability. I take business transactions very seriously, and I expect the other party(-ies) to act the same. If not, then I have NO PROBLEM calling them on it. Business is business!

8. "Hello, my name is Kelly, and I am addicted to chocolate."
"Hi, Kelly."
Sometimes, I wish my chocolate habit was more of a dark chocolate habit (because it's healthier for you), but either way, it's really a bad one to have when you're looking to lose weight in the near future. I prefer my chocolate with nuts. Any kind of nut is fine. No caramel, please. Peanut butter is welcome in all instances. Cherries with chocolate? No problem, just leave them there on the counter. Chocolate coffee? Oh, you shouldn't have! Yup, it's a pretty bad habit. I DO pride myself on having at least a little bit of control in that area, though. I got a bag of mini Reese Cups for Christmas, and I'm still not finished the bag. Pretty good, huh?

Well, that's that. Don't start the kissing, please. We ARE taking chocolate donations, however.



Here's my tagged bloggers: Dana, Chrystal, Tesia, Kayla, Josh, Poppi, Nicky, and Reba. You can refer to this post for the rules (underlined up top). Have fun gang! Can't wait to see your answers!

Monday, May 14, 2007

Day 12: And I Just Like To Eat Them....

Check this out. Perty cool.

But makes me think that some artists aren't what you call, "starving."

Thursday, May 03, 2007

Day 1: Magical Erasure

My Mom and Dad are coming to visit next week. Which means I'm on a whirlwind to get things nice in and OUT if my house again (you know it's true, Mom!).

They have agreed to stay in our pop-up camper. Our house is a taaaad bit too small for comfortable company, but I really didn't like the idea of them going to another town to stay in a hotel. So the camper is kind of "middle ground": not a hotel, but not cramped, and generally comfortable.

Unfortunately, the aforementioned camper was looking somewhat....shall we say....moldy? Not real mold, mind you, but that harmless green stuff that grows on vinyl. You know, what your patio furniture looks like after a couple of years of living outdside?

Yeah, thaaaaat. IE: not pretty.

So, I got a good tip from a fellow camper on how to spiff up Crusty the Camper....
And all I have to say is......

Wow.

Wowie.

Double Wow.

These things WORK.

I have scrubbed the camper before. I'm talking s.c.r.u.b.b.e.d. This time, I wiped it clean.

Wiped.

I'll take wiping over scrubbing anyday.

Goodbye Crusty! Helloooooooo Pristine the Pop-up!

Saturday, March 24, 2007

Tinny What?


Tinea Versicolor
(ti-nee-ah ver-si-color)


***

That's what Boo has. Some sort of yeast growth on her that creates these salmon colored spots.

Flares up when it's humid. Can be itchy, but not necessarily.

Generally, a common side effect of living in skin.

Can you believe it? My Boo's got something relatively normal? Ha! Amazing!

***

The dermatologist gave me some cream to put on it to make it go away. Honestly? It doesn't bother her in the least, so why fuss with it? I mean, it's not like it's some rare skin disease or something. This is something we can actually LIVE with! I don't even HAVE to give her the medicated cream if I don't want to!



Just let me revel in this for a while, ok? I'm savoring the experience.....

Thursday, March 08, 2007

They Make This Too Easy

There are two times in the year when I shop for clothes for my kids. I know, I know, that sounds impossible---especially with 6 kids---but it's true.

Like I have time to scour God's green earth for the latest in size 5 pants (navy blue), or a church dress for Michaela that doesn't make her look like she just left a nightclub.

Speaking of which....

What in the world is WITH little girls' clothes these days???

Oh, DON'T get me started! Arrgghghgh! Ok......that's a whole other post.......

By the way, notice the "Moms for Modesty" button on the side-bar? Yeah, that's me: A MOM FOR MODESTY.

MO--- DES--- TY. Ya know, where people actually have some shame? Yeah, thaaaaaat.

This ain't no "show off what God gave ya, Honey" blog. Nope. We wear CLOTHES around here people!




Ok, rant officially over.....

***

Anywho, like I was saying. I went clothes shopping for my kids today.

I only go twice a year because that's when the big consignment sales hit my area. Imagine department store sized buildings with nothing but oodles of kids' stuff that people are trying to sell. And not just clothes. Toys, books, baby furniture, bikes, you name it. If it has to do with children, you'll probably see it there. And the clothes! Rack upon rack upon rack of NICE STUFF. We're talking brand name. All for a fraction of the cost (well, it is if the seller actually wants to sell it--otherwise it'll just sit on the rack if it's too pricey).

Not that I couldn't get stuff like this at yard sales, but I don't have time to search yard sales for all the clothes my kids need. Not when Noah just grew like 4 inches in the past month! No. These consignment sales are my thing. I go with a list for each child, and I find everything I'm looking for. If something's not there, then I look in the next sale that's coming up. If I still can't find it, then I try a thrift store. THEN, if there's still some holes in someone's wardrobe, THEN I might try buying it at Walmart or Target.

Needless to say, when I plan right, I don't hardly EVER buy my kids clothes at retail prices.

Are you kidding? Not with 6 kids in the house. There's no way we could afford to dress them even half way decently if I didn't shop the consignment sales. Just no way. And not to mention, all the TIME it would take for me to clothe my brood if I had to check every store in town for what I was looking for.

And the modesty thing is a big part of it. Even Walmart has so much flimsy, floosy, show-off-ey, type clothing that I can't possibly outfit my kids shopping there. At least at the consignment sales, I can find ALL kinds of clothing from many different brands. That's a whole lot less time consuming than shopping at individual big name stores, AND I have plenty of modest clothing to choose from. Even if an article of clothing is last year's model, I'll still have a chance to buy it if it fits into what I'm looking for.

I know some people shuddder at the idea of used clothing, but honestly, how long do kids wear this stuff? Not long. In fact, a lot of people could look in their closets right now and even find stuff with tags on it. They've never worn it, and they never will. Their loss is my gain. I got Gabe some nice Carter's rompers like that. Carter's. New. 4 bucks. Cha-ching!

So I did really well this time. I found a lot of what I was needing for the kids' summer wardrobes. The things I didn't find, I know I can get pretty easily and cheaply somewhere else. And I got a bunch of brand name stuff too, for dirt cheap! That's a good feeling.

I like getting nice stuff for my kids, and I like not paying a lot for it.

Things like this help keep life wonderful (as opposed to stressful), ya know?

Monday, February 12, 2007

It's Elementary, My Dear Watson

Homemaking, that is!

Jen has "tagged" me. Here's my take on it:

ABC's of Homemaking

Q: Aprons - Y/N? if Y, what does your favorite look like?
A: Yes, I have one. Only one. It wouldn't be my favorite. It's sissy looking.

Q: Baking - Favorite thing to bake?
A: Anything with chocolate involved is fine with me. However, bread is the most rewarding!

Q: Clothesline - Y/N?
A: No. But I need one! For the same reason as Jen....

Q: Donuts - Have you ever made them?
A: Why? When there's Krispy Kreme or Dunkin Donuts?? Anything I would do would probably be sub-par.

Q: Every Day - One homemaking thing you do every day?
A: Laundry. It's the only way to keep up with the "large family size" proportions of clothing.

Q: Freezer - Do you have a separate deep freeze?
A: Well, technically, it's a whole refrigerator, but we only USE the freezer part.

Q: Garbage Disposal - Y/N?
A: No. They're too noisy for me!

Q: Handbook - What is your favorite homemaking resource?
A: Good ol' Mom. She's only a phone call away.

Q: Ironing - Love it or hate it? Or hate it but love the results?
A: What kind of question is this? Who in their right mind does ironing FOR FUN??? "Oh, honey, let's not go out to eat, I'm enjoying ironing right now." HATE IT. I delegate it to Chris whenever he lets me!

Q: Junk drawer - Y/N? Where is it?
A: I have a junk box. It's Rubbermaid, with a handy-dandy lid, and it sits in my pantry all pretty and neat. What an oxymoron, huh?

Q: Kitchen - color and decorating scheme?
A: It's a sage variation, and it matched my dishes, which is a "country gardening" theme. However, if you saw the mosaic in my island (custom, handmade!), you'd think it was "nautical"--because there's a New England lighthouse in it.

Q: Love - What is your favorite part of homemaking?
A: When it's done, it's very satisfying.

Q: Mop - Y/N?
A: OK, again, weird question. I'm a HOMEMAKER. Of COURSE I mop! And if I didn't, do you think I'd admit it here on my blog?? "Uh, Hon, let's not go visit Kelly anymore. I hear she doesn't mop her floors."

Q: Nylons - Wash by hand or in the washing machine?
A: This one feels a tad bit too personal.

Q: Oven - do you use the window or open the oven to check?
A: Both. Depends on the situation. (Aren't you all happy to know this little piece of useless information now?)

Q: Pizza - What do you put on yours?
A: Finally! A good one! OK.....lemme see.....mushrooms, meat, onions, peppers, BBQ sauce! Mmmmmm......

Q: Quiet - What do you do during the day when you get a quiet moment?
A: Sleep!

Q: Recipe card box - Y/N? What does it look like?
A: I've had one, but I couldn't seem to get the recipe I wanted WHEN I wanted it. Now I have a binder that Pampered Chef put out. They've since retired that binder, but I love mine!

Q: Style of house - What style is your house?
A: Farmhouse. One floor.

Q: Tablecloths and napkins - Y/N?
A: I have a couple of tablecloths that don't fit my table. Cloth napkins are just adding more laundry, so I don't use 'em.

Q: Under the kitchen sink - Organized or toxic wasteland?
A: Does very organized, semi-toxic wasteland qualify?

Q: Vacuum - How many times per week?
A: More in the winter, with Chris hauling in wood. Perhaps 2-3 times a week.

Q: Wash - How many loads of laundry do you do per week?
A: 7-8.

Q: X's - Do you keep a daily list of things to do that you cross off?
A: Not everyday. Mostly on Saturdays when Chris is home and we have to get things done before Sunday or friends come over. For everyday, I usually have a list on the fridge of outstanding projects I need to accomplish. It's nice when those are crossed off!

Q: Yard - Y/N? Who does what?
A: Our lawn mower is persnickity, so Chris takes care of that. However, I will sometimes get immersed in outside stuff when the weather's warmer, and I particularly like to get some flowers out on the porch in the spring.

Q: Zzzz's What is your last homemaking task for the day before going to bed?
A: Probably cleaning the kitchen, although I don't generally wait until right before bed, but try to do it right after dinner.



Well! That was fun! I'm going to tag......Rebecca, Chrystal, Denna, Katie, and Dana....

Have fun girls!

Saturday, February 10, 2007

Ya Gotta Love The 80's

Ahhhhh, the good ol' days! The golden age of Beatboxing! Although this video was clearly made recently (since beatboxing is experiencing it's second wind), it is a funny reminder of my childhood....

And how BAD we were when we tried to imitate the pros.....;)



Beatbox
Uploaded by loranger

Friday, January 26, 2007

Baby Bottoms

One of the first things my husband ever did when he met Michaela for the first time, was check out her backside. I know that sounds weird, but he didn't get to hold her right away because the maternity nurses were doing all kinds of funky stuff to her. They had her layin' out on the isolette, checking her weight, length, putting goop in her eyes, etc. So his first interaction with his child was when she was laying on her stomach under the lights.

And there was her bottom.

We've all heard the phrase, "Soft as a baby's bottom," but here was his chance to prove it.....

And, sure enough, it was pretty stinkin' soft.

***

Baby skin is extremely incredible stuff when it comes to softness. Just silky smooth. Almost glorious. You just want to purr when you rub your face against warm baby skin. There's nothing like it.

And when it comes to putting clothing on a little human that is so fun to touch, the LAST thing you wanna do is scuff it up. Rub it raw. Irritate it. You wanna preserve as much innocence as possible. Even on the skin.

Adding a little bit of fragrance is just a bonus.

Such is life when pampering a newborn's butt. You just don't want to mess it up (they seem to do enough of that themselves). Some really rich guys out there understand this fact, and have introduced every stinkin', smoothin', buttering product known to man---just for our kids' backsides.

Yup, we humans sure pay a lot of attention to baby bottoms.

***

I, especially, like to pay attention to my kids' butts. For some reason, I got overly interested in what goes into taking care of their posterior a few years back. Someone I worked with at the time, brought their toddler into work and was showing off her son's diapers.

I was immediately interested.

Not that diapers are usually a thought provoking conversation piece, but the cool thing about these diapers was that they were handmade.

Yup. She had made her kid some diapers. Out of cloth.

And would you believe it? Those were the coolest things I ever saw (as far as diapers were concerned). I mean, they had a cute print on the outside, and were soft cotton on the inside, and they closed using velcro. So neat. I was instantly fascinated in this world called, "cloth diapering."

I mean, since when did cloth diapers get so "user friendly?"

The more I looked into it, the more it seemed completely do-able to use cloth diapers on my soon-to-be-born baby (my third, Caleb). I was already thinking about the financial pinch it would cause to have a THIRD child in diapers, so I did plenty of research. Come to find out, there were so many different types and styles and patterns to choose from. Not to mention cost. I could spend a little or a lot, or I could make my own. And as far as washing them, I learned that most Moms don't "dunk" their diapers in the toilet like our grandmothers did. New detergents were so effective, that you could simply throw a dirty diaper in a pail, then dump the pail in the washer, add soap, and start it up. Out came clean diapers. No mess, no hassle.

And I really liked the idea of that soft, fluffy cotton on my baby's butt.

(And come to find out, there's nothing like wrapping your child's posterior in a clean, warm, fragrant diaper fresh out of the dryer.......ahhhhhhhh.)

***

I ended up researching everything diaper, and found a cloth diapering style that suited me best. I needed durable (because I knew we were having more kids), easy, and inexpensive. I didn't end up with the fancy type diapers like my friend had made, but what I got, I liked.

And I can't tell you how much money it has saved me to use cloth diapers over the years.

Now, I will say, that I haven't used cloth exclusively on my last 4 children, but every child has had the opportunity to wear them. My diapers have lasted this long, and they still work great. You just aren't wasting your money having cloth diapers around. They're so versatile.

~We use them when a child (even our friends' kids!) has a painful yeast infection.

~We use them to catch drool on a pillow.

~We use some of the worn out ones for cleaning the car (or anything that needs a "soft touch")

~We use them to get on top of recurring diaper rashes.

~Michaela uses our largest diapers as bibs.

And the styles and options keep growing and getting better and even more user-friendly. It's really not a problem to wash, dry, and use cloth diapers. You can even get cloth wipes. I have some, but I found it easier to just use disposable wipes. Especially since I don't use wipes every time I change a diaper.

In general, I would say that disposable diapers are the easiest thing to use when it comes to keeping your child's rear in pristine condition. HOWEVER, most moms find out pretty quick that there's more to life than just convenience, and that includes what's pampering your little one's backside. I mean, how convenient is it to have to keep switching diaper brands because each one makes your baby break out? And how nice is it to hear your little 3-month-old screaming constantly from a horrible yeast infection they got from an antibiotic? Don't forget the price of those things: it's like rubbing your money in doggy doo-doo and throwing it in the trash. Not ideal by far.

So let me just put a bug in your ear: think about using cloth sometime. You've got the internet.....look some stuff up! And if you're not doing the "kid thing" these days, tell someone you love who is. Maybe it's something that would really work out for them.

Here's a website started by a Mom who wants to help people try out cloth. She lets you try different types of diapers for free, just so you can get a feel for what would work for you. Wish she had this up and running when I was looking into it!

And just to whet your appetite, here's some pics of baby Gabe in his favorite fanny fashions:

The diaper part, kept together by a cool "Snappi" gadget (no pins)


A white "snap on" diaper cover, my personal favorite

A very cute velcro print cover that's also very easy to use





Give your soft-bottomed baby the best in bottom attire---cloth diapers!

Thursday, January 11, 2007

Now THAT'S Pretty Unique!


HowManyOfMe.com
LogoThere are:
0
people with my name
in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

My friend Vanessa had this thing on her blog, and since I'm such a sucker for all things "name", I decided I HAD to check it out.

And, go figure, this is what it came up with when I entered Libbigail's name!

And, believe it or not, I got the same results for Asher's name too!

That's pretty stinkin' unique. Very cool. I've always liked their names, and how "different" they are (yet, relatively tame on the weirdness scale--doncha think?). I never would've thought that there were NO OTHER people out there with their first and last name, though. How interesting....

Here's how the rest of us stacked up:
Chris--1,946
Me--649
Michaela--15
Noah--41
Caleb--43
Gabriel--142

And when I entered my maiden name, it came back as 7. 7 people who answer to MY name. 7 people who know how annoying it was to write it out (sorry Dad, but it IS). There are actually people out there with the same exact name I was born with. I mean, that's kinda weirdish.



Now I really want to meet those other 6 people.....